

ÅRETS FRAMTIDSBYGGARE

Press release 19/09/2014

Årets Framtidsbyggare, Sustainable Building Award: SEK 1.2 million prize for the development of passive housing.

Researchers Bo Adamson (Sweden) and Wolfgang Feist (Germany) have been named Årets inno-vatörer, Innovators of the Year, by the Sustainable Building Award jury. The prize will be presented by chair of the board Margot Wallström at Lund University. Ing-Marie Odegren, CEO of Alingsåshem, was named Årets opinionsbildare, Opinion Former of the Year. All three were rewarded for their work in the development and construction of so-called passive houses.

Bo Adamson and Wolfgang Feist share the Innovator of the Year Award and SEK 750,000 for their longterm involvement in the development of passive houses, also known as ultra low energy buildings. The Future Builder of the Year Award is presented annually by the Foundation for Energy Efficient Construction. The winners have been chosen by a jury whose members included Maria Wetterstrand, former spokesperson of the Swedish Green Party and Thomas B Johansson, Professor emeritus of the International Environment Institute at Lund University. Svenska Hus and MVB were also represented on the jury. In the words of the jury:

Bo Adamson has demonstrated great ability in creating ways of constructing ultra low energy buildings (so-called passive houses), based on innovative concepts that have proven to both work and be market competitive. Wolfgang Feist has further developed the concept in a highly successful way. The partnership between Adamson and Feist has been very rewarding, in no small part thanks to Feist's dedicated research and capacity to drive development from concept to reality. This work, that started in the 1970s, has been continuously refined and is now attracting tremendous interest within both the EU and globally as an instrument for sustainable development.

Ing-Marie Odegren, CEO of Alingsåshem, will be presented with a cheque for SEK 250,000 in recognition of being the driving force behind work to renovate and upgrade housing built in the 1960s and 70s into energy efficient passive houses. In the words of the jury:

Ing-Marie Odegren has led the transformation of the Brogården residential development in Alingsås, Sweden, built in the early 1970s. Alingsåshem is the first municipal housing company to convert dwellings into passive houses. She is a pioneer who has dared to think outside the box. Not only has the renovation project improved the indoor climate, it has also managed to cut energy consumption for heating by 80 percent. The work done by Ing-Marie has put the focus on an issue of key importance ahead of the future renovation of 1960s and 70s housing developments.

"To our way of thinking, future energy systems must consider sustainability issues to a far greater extent. More efficient energy usage is a key issue in this perspective. Passive houses represent a far more efficient use of energy than is usually the case which is an important factor in both new build housing and in association with larger renovations," says chair of the jury Professor Thomas B Johansson.

COMMENTS BY THE AWARD WINNERS:

"I would like to thank the foundation and its founder, who have been actively involved in the construction of passive houses. Passive houses are one of the solutions we need to help reduce climate changes. They make the indoor climate more comfortable, offer value for money and lower demand for fossil fuels by 80-90 percent. We are going to continue our research and provide support for global advances in energy efficient and sustainable buildings," says Wolfgang Feist, Joint Winner with Bo Adamson of the Innovator of the Year Award.

"It is a great honour to be remembered for the efforts that have been made over several decades to make energy consumption more efficient in family houses in particular. It all started when I began to see building and installation systems as one single system that could be made so energy efficient that you would virtually not need any additional heating at all – hence the name passive house. Having said that, reality has not always matched calculations and in the case of ultra low energy houses, measurements have shown a much higher energy need than calculated. Which is why we need to continue the development of robust systems where reality matches thinking and this is also going to be my slogan for the future," says Bo Adamson.

"I would like to thank the foundation for naming me Opinion Former of the Year, which means a great deal for our continuing work. We are going to use the prize money to produce a manual that describes the process we employ when considering long-term sustainable decisions based on a holistic view of ecological, economic and social sustainability. The experience we have gained from Brogården will be invaluable when we start renovating the next ageing housing development – an area with 700 apartments in the Noltorp district of Alingsås," says Ing-Marie Odegren, Opinion Former of the Year.

The Awards were presented at Lund University on 18 September. Seven students from the International Environment Institute and Campus Helsingborg at Lund University were also named Årets talanger, Talents of the Year, and each received cheques ranging from SEK 12,500 to 50,000.

About the Foundation for Energy Efficient Construction:

The Foundation for Energy Efficient Construction promotes greater social responsibility with the focus on integrating innovation and entrepreneurship such as in sustainable development. The Foundation is funded by the Eliasson Family Foundation for the Development of a Sound Construction Culture, which is also a shareholder in the AB Gullringsbo Egendomar Group. The Group includes property companies Svenska Hus and MVB.

For more information on the Future Builder of the Year Award, please contact:

Hans Eliasson, director, Foundation for Energy Efficient Construction hans.eliasson@abgullringsbo.se, +46 705 16 77 17

Contact details of award winners:

Bo Adamson, Innovator of the year: adamson.bo@telia.com Wolfgang Feist, Innovator of the year: wolfgang.feist@uibk.ac.at, +49 6151 82699 0 Ing-Marie Odegren, Opinion Former of the year: ingmarie.odegren@alingsashem.se, +46 706 75 08 88